Birds in Row — “Weary”

As hardcore withdraws back into thousands of local fastnesses to rethink and regroup, decent national releases like this one are rare. European bands have been holding down the scene’s bona fides for some time now, though—tough-guy mistranslations like pretty much anything in the Hardcore Worldwide video catalogue aside—and France’s Birds in Row is a prime example of post-hardcore’s lingering impact on the vast frontiers of the heavy music world. The band’s 2012 release You, Me, and the Violence was top-to-bottom quality. Personal War (October 30, Deathwish Inc.) promises more of the same.

“Weary” is a tantalizing taste of the forthcoming album. Watch below, pre-order above.

6/2/2015: Attalus, Into the Sea


North Carolina’s various -core scenes have long been prolific and fertile. Raleigh stalwarts Attalus continue the tradition (of Hopesfall, Between the Buried and Me, and many others) on their epic new concept album, Into the Sea. Relentlessly melodic, simultaneously heartbreaking and life-affirming, Into the Sea is a surprising and refreshing new take on post-hardcore. Echoes of Boys Night Out, Chiodos, La Dispute, Thrice, and Brand New keep the album grounded, but surprises abound. Attalus can stand on their own.

In lieu of strong tracks, here’s a complete track listing. Into the Sea is an experience.

  1. The Ancient Mariner
  2. This Ship is Going Down
  3. Sirens
  4. Desolate Isle
  5. Man, O Shipwreck
  6. Step Out
  7. Albatross
  8. The Breath before the Plunge
  9. Into the Sea
  10. Coming Clean
  11. O the Depths
  12. Voices from the Shore
  13. Safe
  14. The Greater Tide
  15. Death Be Not Proud
  16. Message in a Bottle

A disclaimer: If earnest suburban Protestantism isn’t your thing, keep this one at arm’s length. Ignore the lyrics–whatever you have to do. Just let its profound musical ideas wash over you.


Buy the album and find out more here.